Lanzaron calendario del carnaval 2015 en Antigua y Barbuda

Antigua Carnival 2015 Launched

In front of a large crowd, The Antigua and Barbuda Festivals Commission under the Ministry of Trade, Industry, Commerce, Sports, Culture & National Festivals, launched the 2015 Carnival festivities on Saturday on Redcliffe Street.

In attendance were Minister of Culture & National Festivals, the Hon. Paul “Chet” Greene, ABFC Chairman Cliff Williams, and other members of the Commission.

The launch featured performances by Singing Thalia- reigning Calypso Monarch, Singing Shyla -reigning Junior Calypso Monarch (5-12) backed by Cheze Kake Factory, Menace – 2014 Road March Winner, Tian Winter and the Iconic Band – 2014 Groovy Monarch, Laurena Davis and TKO, MadTGuans, Rattigan, and Soca Diva Claudette “CP” Peters and Taxik Band.

A moment of silence was also given during the Carnival launch in recognition of cultural icon, Marcus Christopher who recently passed away.

Redcliffe Street was transformed into a festive and colourful center with hundreds of carnival lovers waving glow sticks throughout the evening. They were also treated to brochures carrying the schedule of events for Carnival.

Antigua’s Carnival 2015 – “The Caribbean’s Greatest Summer Festival” will take place between July 25 – August 4. See Carnival 2015 schedule below:

  • Saturday 25 July:      Opening Ceremony & T-shirt Mass
  • Sunday 26 July:         Jaycees Queen Show
  • Monday 27 July:        Teen Xplosion
  • Tuesday 28 July:       All Inclusive Fete
  • Wednesday 29 July:  Wadadli Face Off
  • Thursday 30 July:     Junior Carnival
  • Friday 31 July:         Panorama
  • Saturday 1 August:   Party Monarch
  • Sunday 2 August:      Calypso Competition
  • Monday 3 August:     Jouvert& Judging of the Troupes
  • Tuesday 4 August:    Parade of the Bands &Last Lap

 

Antigua Chronicle